Battlefield 2042 Season 1: Zero Hour gameplay reveal and release date

Electronic Arts has confirmed plans to reveal Battlefield 2042 Season 1, which is titled Zero Hour, on June 7.

A gameplay reveal trailer, which will be viewable via the video embedded at the top of this page, will go live on Tuesday at 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST.

Developer DICE has said it’s planning to launch Battlefield 2042 Season 1 early this month, and reliable industry insider Tom Henderson has claimed its release date is likely to be June 9.

Battlefield 2042 – PC RTX trailer

According to dataminer @Temporyal, Battlefield 2042 Season 1 Zero Hour will introduce new Specialist Ewelina Lis, a guided rocket launcher gadget, stealth helicopters, new map Exposure and premium battle passes.

Notice: To display this embed please allow the use of Functional Cookies in Cookie Preferences.

Season 1 was originally scheduled to launch in early 2022 but it was delayed to the summer so that DICE could focus on bringing the base game up to scratch following its troubled launch.

Ahead of Battlefield 2042’s delayed release last November, DICE said Battlefield 2042 Season 1 would include a new Specialist, Battle Pass and Portal content.

It also teased the introduction of “some new sights”, potentially referring to the Exposure map.

In Battlefield 2042’s first year of live service, DICE said it planned to launch four Seasons, each including a Battle Pass, Specialist, new locations and more.

Whether that’s still the plan given the delayed rollout of live service content remains to be seen.

DICE recently confirmed that it plans to stop developing new content for Battlefield 2042’s Hazard Zone mode. While it will remain playable and DICE will continue to address any critical issues that arise, future maps and content won’t be supported in Hazard Zone.

Electronic Arts CEO Andrew Wilson said in May that the company remained committed to Battlefield 2042 for the long-term.

“This is one of the great franchises of our industry, built by one of the great teams in the industry, and our expectations are it’s going to continue to grow and be a really important part of our portfolio for many, many years to come.”