With game streaming service Google Stadia shutting down in a week, Destiny 2 has finally pulled the plug on Stadia servers. Destiny 2 Stadia players will no longer be able to access the game via the streaming service.
Fortunately, this does not mean that characters from Stadia gameplay are deleted—yet. You can still save your characters by setting up Cross Save right here.
Important reminder: Failure to set up Cross Save before January 18, 2023, will result in players losing access to their characters, items, emblems, Bungie.net account, and Eververse purchases, such as access to Season Passes.
Cross Save is a feature that allows Destiny 2 players to use the same character through multiple platforms. So if you’re playing on your desktop but want to move over to the couch and chill with your PS5, you can do so while sticking to the same Guardian. Setting up Cross Save effectively saves Stadia characters over on Bungie servers, letting you use your Guardian on another platform in the future.
There is one problem, though: you don’t have very long to set up Cross Save. This method is only available until January 18 when Stadia shuts down for good. At that point, your Guardians will be lost forever, so be sure to take some time off your day and set up Cross Save if you care about your Stadia character’s progress.
It’s also worth noting that once you’ve activated Cross Save, players with Google Stadia as their primary account should not deactivate Cross Save under any circumstance. Doing so will make you lose access to your characters. Not ideal, but it’s better than having no progress carried over at all.
You can check out the full support article on this topic on Bungie’s website. Destiny 2 is currently available on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, and PC (bye-bye, Stadia).
This news is republished from another source. You can check the original article here