Obsidian designer seemingly hints at Xbox showcase appearance

Obsidian‘s studio design director Josh Sawyer has seemingly hinted that the studio may appear at the upcoming Xbox & Bethesda Showcase event.

On Wednesday Sawyer quote-retweeted a tweet from the official Xbox account about Xbox & Bethesda showcase with; “anyway,” and a painting nails emoji, which is typically used to signal that the poster has something they want to say, but can’t yet.

Obsidian currently has three games in development. Grounded, which entered early access in 2020, Avowed, which was revealed at 2020’s Xbox showcase, and The Outer Worlds 2, which was revealed at the 2021 event.

Avowed – Official Announce Trailer

The Outer Worlds 2 was revealed with a trailer which jokingly suggested that the game is “nowhere near ready” and that “the only thing they have finished is the titles,” so it’s perhaps unlikely that the game appears as part of the showcase, outside of another teaser.

Avowed, however, seems far more likely to have a significant presence at the show. In October last year, Windows Central reported that the game will feature two-handed first-person combat, similar to Microsoft stable-mate Bethesda’s The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

It was said at that time that an early working version of the game was close to being completed, so it’s possible that the first gameplay of the RPG will be shown at the event.

Notice: To display this embed please allow the use of Functional Cookies in Cookie Preferences.

“If The Outer Worlds was Obsidian’s take on a Fallout-style game, Avowed is undoubtedly Obsidian’s take on The Elder Scrolls,” Windows Central wrote at the time.

The game reportedly features swimming gameplay and may include some destructible environments too.

The Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase will be held on Sunday, June 12.

The event will start at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST and will be streamed in over 30 languages on the likes of YouTube, Twitch and Facebook.