Pokémon Scarlet and Violet’s next 7-star Tera Raid features Greninja

The Pokémon set to be featured in Scarlet and Violet’s upcoming 7-star Tera Raid has been revealed.

As reported by Serebii, the event will allow players to fight and catch a Greninja.

Because Greninja isn’t part of the game’s Paldea Pokédex, there hasn’t been any way for players to catch one until now.

As such, this 7-star Tera Raid Battle event will be the first chance players will get to catch a Greninja for this collection.

Pokemon Scarlet & Violet review | VGC

The Greninja in this event will be different from most other Greninja in that it will have the Poison Tera type (it’s usually a Water/Dark type) and the Mightiest Mark (which shows it was caught

The event will take place on two separate occasions. The first session will start and end at the following times:

  • PT – January 26 at 16:00 until January 29 at 15:59
  • ET – January 26 at 19:00 until January 29 at 18:59
  • GMT – January 27 at 00:00 until January 29 at 23:59

The second session will start and end at the following times:

  • PT – February 9 at 16:00 until February 12 at 15:59
  • ET – February 9 at 19:00 until February 12 at 18:59
  • GMT – February 10 at 00:00 until February 12 at 23:59

There will also be separate 4-Star and 5-Star Tera Raid Battle events taking place on January 20-22, which will focus on Drifloon in Pokémon Scarlet and Mismagius in Pokémon Violet.

In VGC’s Pokémon Scarlet and Violet review, we said the games were the most feature-rich Pokémon titles in years but suffered from technical issues.

“The huge expansion and changes to the single player campaign are great, the size of the world and the joy of exploration are the best in the series, and the new Pokemon and battle mechanics introduced all sing,” we wrote.

“However, it’s just impossible to shake the thought of how much better the game would feel if it was on more powerful hardware, or simply ran acceptably on Switch.”