The Wonder Boy Collection Brings Four Classic Games to Switch and PS4 – GameSpew

The Wonder Boy Collection, arriving this June 3rd, bundles four retro side-scrollers, featuring enough monsters to keep even Mario busy.

Sure, Nintendo’s plumber stamped on turtles and dropped a lizard into lava, but Wonder Boy in Monster Land had you fighting Death. Yes, as The Wonder Boy Collection will confirm, your small, nappy-wearing infant was pitted against the grim reaper.

We’re not quite sure what Child Protection Services would make of all that, but we’re still happy to see the original Wonder Boy games get a second airing. As excellent as recent entries Wonder Boy: Asha in Monster World and the remake of Wonder Boy: The Dragon’s Trap are, we’ve got fond memories of the earlier entries. And that’s not just because, heading off on our holidays, Wonder Boy in Monster Land was only one of two arcade games on the ferry. Honest.


The Wonder Boy Collection, the work of ININ Games and Bliss Brain, will feature the following titles:

  • Wonder Boy (1986)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster Land (1987)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World (1991)
  • Monster World IV (1994)

The former two titles got arcade releases, while the latter two only turned up on home consoles. The collection will be released digitally and physically on PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch this June 3rd, with a physical release through Amazon and other retailers.

However, and you just knew this was coming, there’s a special edition and a super special edition, both of which are available through Strictly Limited Games. The Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection features an extra two games:

  • Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair (1988)
  • Wonder Boy: The Dragon‘s Trap (1989)

On top of that it includes regional variants, making a total of 21 different versions. Don’t expect the variants to be radically different, though we’re sure collectors will get a kick out of it.

We’re not entirely happy, however, about The Dragon’s Trap and Monster Lair being shunted into The Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection – they’re as much part of Wonder Boy history as the four games featured in the “main” collection. It seems a little cheeky to yank them out and relocate them to a more expensive €49.99 edition.

Then there’s the super special edition, officially dubbed the The Wonder Boy Anniversary Collection Collector’s Edition which, costing €99.99 features pins, an artbook, coin collection and more. You can find full details here.

All versions will, aside from letting you play the game as is, let you rewind the action if you mess up, which should make defeating the embodiment of our fragile mortality a bit easier. There’s no news on other platforms, but you can pick up The Wonder Boy Collection when it arrives on PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch this June 3rd.

This news is republished from another source. You can check the original article here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.